Rest In Peace, Mr. Kenneth Chi

I was one of the first people, out of the Zen Palate crew, who had the privilege of meeting Kenny for the first time.

I had initially applied for a job at the Zen Palate down in Union Square but the manager there had told me they were opening a new restaurant on the Upper West Side and so he sent me there.

“Ask for Kenny Chi, he will interview you for the position” he said.

The next day I walked into the restaurant which was still being renovated.

“Hello? Anybody here?” My voice echoed throughout the empty space.

“Hi, hi, you must be Serena” a middle aged Asian man replied cheerily, while walking towards me.

I immediately felt his warmth and smiled.

“Yes. You must be Kenny. Charlie sent me. I’m applying for the server position”.

He quickly scanned me up and down and said, “Okay, when can you start?”

“Dang” I thought. “That was the easiest job interview I’ve ever had!”

And til this day, he will go down in history as one of the most respected bosses I’ve ever had, and I’ve had many.

Kenneth Chi was a humble, generous, compassionate, and intelligent man. He was loved by everyone. His bosses, employees, customers, even dogs would come in the restaurant and want to spend time just hanging out with him.

He was the main reason for Zen Palate’s booming success when they first opened that restaurant on Broadway. It wasn’t his second  home. It was his first. He put his blood, sweat and tears into that establishment and I witnessed it firsthand.

I worked with him from 1993-1995 and he was always patient with me, considering all the mistakes I made. He even allowed me to return on the weekends during my freshman year at college, so I could work and support myself.

He was like a second father to me.

After he left Zen Palate I made an effort to keep in touch with him. He was always trying something new, never giving up on life. I’d visit him at his own restaurant in 2001 and was sad when he had to close.

The last time I saw Kenny was in Flushing a few years ago. He was with his family and I was with my daughter. We embraced and promised to keep in touch.

I only wish I had kept in touch with him more. It goes to show you how unexpected life can be. He passed way too early but I can bet that he fought, whatever it was bringing him down, to the end because he was a fighter.

I will always have a place for  you in my heart Kenny and I can only hope that you are in a better place now.

Zen Palate wouldn’t have been as successful as it was without you. I want you to know that you touched so many lives, especially mine.

Leave a comment